*Urgent help needed setting up a Computer Science ePortfolio

Hello,

NOTE the update later in the post! My original issue is no longer an issue I don’t believe.

I’ve never used HTML, Ruby, or Jekyll before, but my last class has me creating an ePortfolio on GitHub Pages for my final project. I forked the following template for my project, but I don’t know how to edit it to be how I want it: GitHub - mmistakes/mm-github-pages-starter: Minimal Mistakes GitHub Pages site starter..

My current ePortfolio looks like this (deleted because new users can only have one embedded image per post):

The GitHub project for the ePortfolio is here, which is what I need to edit: GitHub - trevor-leon/trevor-leon.github.io: This is my ePortfolio for CS-499 Computer Science Capstone

My class is finished this Sunday, and I will fail if this ePortfolio is not done. I did so much work for this class, and I would hate to see it crumble because I wasn’t familiar with Ruby or HTML.

Basically, what I want to do is to get rid of the Pages and Posts completely. I thought I removed all of the Posts logic, but the Recent Posts are still there. I want one page that scrolls and reads like a readme with headers, text, and possibly pictures throughout. I tried editing the index.html file (which is where the “Testing…” text comes from). I noticed, however, that it doesn’t recognize newlines at all and just writes to the site above the Recent Posts area. What is the best method of keeping what I have now, but replacing Posts with just markdown or something. I even thought about putting everything I need for my ePortfolio in my readme, and then just calling the readme to display in the body.

Really, what I’m trying to do is not hard. The issue I’m having is that I have no idea where to start because I know nothing about HTML, Ruby, or Jekyll. I just need to add simple content such as markup language to the body.