Problems installing and modifying a theme

Hello!

I’m a total newbie when it comes to Jekyll. I have to say I like the idea behind it - how to use liquid, layouts, includes and data files. After reading the tutorial to install and create a few simple sites to try it out, I’m learning fast. The really nice thing is to develop on a local server machine and also that Jekyll is generating a final version in the _site folder ready to be uploaded to a web host.

I’ve encounter a big problem though, that sadly has dampen my enthusiasm a little bit. I’m probably doing something wrong or missing something, but what?
I find it very confusing trying to install the “Agency Jekyll Theme” which is my first theme I’m trying out. Mostly because there are several ways to do it, the commands doesn’t add up and there is a lot “you can do this” embedded into what you actually have to do to install it.

When I run command jekyll serve (in my site folder) it creates _site folder and in there content in the subfolders css, img and js.
But nothing else is created, not index.html and other files needed directly under _site folder.
In my site root folder, there is only _config.yml and Gemfile, after completing the initial steps.
There seem to be a problem to actually download the full theme into my root folder. Shouldn’t this be performed when running command gem install jekyll-agency and bundle (init)?

When I manually download the agency-jekyll-theme-starter-master.zip and extract the entire content in my root site folder, there is index.html, _data folder etc. However, in the assets folder there is only an img folder. Where does the css folder and its content come from that generates under _site?

As a result, when I open localhost:4000/agency-jekyll-theme-starter/ in a browser there is only a directory listing with the folder “assets

As a workaround, I’m running the command jekyll build so that the site in its entirety is placed under _site folder.