Jekyll category and tag links add a "#" to the start of the folder name

Hi all, I’m a complete novice trying to build my first blog in Jekyll. I’m on Windows 10.

I have managed to follow some tutorials and have created a decent site by using a theme (GitHub - zivhub/monophase: A one-column minimal responsive Jekyll blog theme)

However, when creating pages for Categories and Tags, the links are broken. It seems that a # is being added to the beginning of the folder name.

For example the link for my misc category is shown as localhost:4000/#misc instead of localhost:4000/misc

I hope this all makes sense. And thank you in advance for your help! :slight_smile:

can you post a link to your repo and or live site? or at least the code that you have?

Thanks for your response rdyar. Here’s a link to my repository - GitHub - scottcodes/blog

I’m guessing I must have done something wrong along the way as well, as it’s not appearing at all on Github Pages (https://scottcodes.github.io/blog/). But does seem to work somewhat on my localhost.

the link to your site is a blank page - did you change it?

Nope I didn’t change it. I’m reading that it may be because I used Ruby 3.0, and that’s not supported by Github Pages. :frowning:

I may have to start from the beginning again.

Is there a way to downgrade Ruby? I am on Windows 10.

not sure, maybe uninstall and re-install.

But I’m not sure why that would effect GH pages.

Your whole site is a blank white screen for me. GH pages doesn’t support certain plugins, but the actual version of GH pages should not really matter I don’t think.

You don’t get an error when you do a commit?

I think I would try deleting the gemfile.lock.

I did not get an error during commit, and I tried to delete the gemfile.lock as suggested.

I then uninstalled ruby 3.0 and installed ruby 2.7.

All in all, I’ve decided to start from scratch again. I’m a total noob so I still have much more to learn I guess.