Trouble getting started with Jekyll on Mac OS

I’ve followed the instructions on set up for Jekyll for Mac OS, but when I hit this line:

gem install --user-install bundler jekyll

I am getting a WARNING:

You don't have /Users/myusername/.local/share/gem/ruby/3.0.0/bin in your PATH

I followed the instructions to add things to my PATH and it all seemed to work fine. Any pointers on why this might be happening? I’m a pretty novice coder, so any help is much appreciated! Thanks.

fwiw - I get the same warning but I never use --user-install … Should I? And I have ruby 2.7.0 when I type ‘which ruby’ … I think jekyll likes 2.7 ruby.

Thanks @roadie . Are you able to get Jekyll to work in spite of this problem? I can’t make it run. How did you do it?

I put a Gemfile into the directory and in that file I have one line:
gem ‘jekyll’
then I type gem install bundler jekyll
and it installs fine.
However - I have installed rvm as a ruby environment and the default ruby is set to 2.7
so when I type ‘which ruby’ - it says:
ruby is /Users/roadie/.rvm/rubies/ruby-2.7.0/bin/ruby
ruby is /usr/bin/ruby

so the rvm ruby-2.7 is first in the path.

machine:testjekyll roadie$ gem install bundler jekyll
Successfully installed bundler-2.2.15
Parsing documentation for bundler-2.2.15
Installing ri documentation for bundler-2.2.15
Done installing documentation for bundler after 3 seconds
Successfully installed jekyll-4.2.0
Parsing documentation for jekyll-4.2.0
Done installing documentation for jekyll after 0 seconds
2 gems installed

and I installed rvm from: https://rvm.io

As suggested above use Ruby 2.7.

Check your path.

echo $PATH

And look for that bin directory in your path.

If it is there, you can do

which -a bundler

Or

bundler --version

And you’ll see it available.

If it not in your path, then you need to update your path in .bashrc for Bash (or a ZSH config for ZSH)

e.g.

export PATH="$HOME/.local/share/gem/ruby/3.0.0/bin:$PATH"