Failed installation attempts on MacOS Catalina

[Caveat: I am a novice Terminal user and this is my first experience with a command line procedure for installing software (which may be at least half of my problem, I know).]

In an effort to install and use Jekyll on my system, I have studied the Jekyll website and watched the video tutorials by Mike Dane. I understand the process, but after attempting to perform the scripted Terminal commands described in these resources, I get multiple errors and seem to be going in circles.

I have followed the instructions to install Jekyll on MacOS very carefully—several times. I can verify that Ruby is installed, but cannot verify that Jekyll is installed. Here is what I get:

ruby -v
ruby 2.6.3p62 (2019-04-16 revision 67580) [universal.x86_64-darwin19]

jekyll -v
-bash: jekyll: command not found

Strangely, when I enter

export PATH=$HOME/.gem/ruby/2.6.0/bin:$PATH

as is specified in the installation instructions, I then am able to run

jekyll -v
jekyll 4.0.0

However, when trying to execute commands from Jekyll to publish the site, things go south. When trying to serve up the site to my local host, I get:

bundle exec jekyll serve
Could not locate Gemfile or .bundle/ directory

Also, when I close out my Terminal window and reopen it, it will not verify that Jekyll is downloaded until I run

export PATH=$HOME/.gem/ruby/2.6.0/bin:$PATH

again.

So, needless to say, I’m stuck in a rut here and could use some help with my specific issues. It would be greatly appreciated.

Basically, you need to have Ruby’s bin directory permanently added to your PATH env variable. Ideally, it should’ve been automatically handled when you installed Ruby itself.

Running gem env will give you some nice insight regarding where Ruby looks for stuff.
The path we’re interested in here is printed with the label: EXECUTABLE DIRECTORY:. Adding that value to your system’s PATH will ensure that Ruby finds executables made available by a Rubygem.