Can bundler access jekyll from $HOME/.gem & other gems from 'vendor/bundle'?

I’m new to ruby/jekyll; went through the step-by-step tutorial at the Jekyll docs. Installed jekyll and bundler locally (~/.gem/ruby/2.7.0/bin/*) per these macOS instructions. I also set bundle config set path 'vendor/bundle' so each time I do jekyll new [PATH] gems are installed there. I am looking for a way for bundle install to find my local jekyll gem without installing it in each small project. I tried gem "jekyll", :path => "/User/Steve/.gem/ruby/2.7.0/bin/jekyll" in the Gemfile but :path seems to only be a relative path from the current directory. (Coming from Python, I am looking for something like os.path.abspath).

Is what I am asking possible? I saw a similar question at stackoverflow and commented there too.

Hi Steve.

Fellow Python wrangler here.

You can use jekyll new and a folder name to create a new project but I have only done this a handful times. Mostly I create a new project one file at a time or I use a github template repo that I made or that someone else made.

You’ll want to do the following:

Create a new project or clone a repo. This should have a homepage, config and Gemfile at minimum.

Navigate to the project.

Configure bundler for the project. Only needed once for each project.

bundle config set path vendor/bundle

Install gems inside the project.

# this will use any 'gem install GEM_NAME' lines in Gemfile. This is what you should be using 90% of the time.
bundle install

# install ad hoc. Remember to add it to Gemfile if you want to keep it around.
bundle install GEM_NAME 'VERSION'

Note there is no virtual environment to activate, as bundler knows to install to vendor directory within a project.

And you’ll want to avoid using gem install GEM in the shell unless it’s at the user level. See my guide below which does that. Also don’t worry about setting :path - I’ve never come across that before I have worked on many Jekyll projects.