Set site.url from env var (netlify deploy preview)

I am new to jekyll, but I have built a site that is live, hosted on netlify.

Now I would like to use netlify deploy previews so I can test some changes without modifying the main public site. Such deploy previews are published at an url which I cannot predict. The url is available in an environment variable.

I can’t figure out how to get this url into my build. It needs to be in a _config.yml file, but I don’t know it in advance. I would like to override the site var in _config.yml on the jekyll build command line, but that doesn’t seem to be possible.

Advice, please?

how much do you need the actual site url for? I think I only use it for the canonical url in the metadata, every where else I just have my urls start with a / and the relative link.

Sorry, not an answer to your question, I know.

Looking at your site it looks like most of the urls are relative, so when the site is at 1234.mysite.com vs https://mysite.com what is actually not working?

I used the https://phlow.github.io/feeling-responsive/ template. Without the actual url, lots of styling doesn’t work.

in your head where you have:
<link rel="canonical" href="/about">

This is where I think the actual site url is important - so I would add it there.

what is a link to the preview site? I think it is something else.

I think I have it figured out. This build command seems to have worked:

printf "site: %s" "$DEPLOY_URL" > _config_netlify.yml; jekyll build --config _config.yml,_config_netlify.yml

See my deploy preview at https://5e40749f8f39b10008bd3868--angry-tereshkova-959566.netlify.com

I have not yet verified that this produces a correct deployment of master branch to main url.

ah - yeah that url I think would break the relative-ness of the urls. [not sure about that now]

it looks like you are able to have a different build command for the preview site? if so I think you are on the right track, writing the preview url to the dev config file.