How to find a freelance jekyll developer?

Hi, I have a couple of sites I built with jekyll and I’m not that good at the css and styling. Can I get some advice about how to find an experienced freelancer who might be able to spend a few hours helping me improve a few things? I think it might be a good use of my time to pay someone rather than learning how to do it myself. Has anyone got any recommendations?

Regards,
Emily Bache

HI @emilybache,

Jekyll is standard HTML (with Liquid when you want to do something programmatically) and styling using standard CSS and or SASS (which gets converted to CSS). There may certainly be people here that can help you, and in general, I find the community here is pretty good and not spammy.

That said, when I need to style something, I usually find someone on Fiverr who can take on some or all of my projects based on my needs. For example, to create my agileinaction.com website, I had someone help me with CSS Grids to display my podcast posts, and then someone else to add some of the base styles and colors to the site. The cost was probably $150 and I did not have to invest in learning those technologies as much as I would have had to.

That said, if you have specific requirements, I suggest you post them here so people that may be willing to help understand the scope of your request. For example: “I want my website to be centered on the page, offer a light and dark theme, and be more mobile friendly. Here is my website: https://…”

Also, here is a Discord called Jekyllgems that is fairly new, but does have a looking-to-hire forum.

I hope that helps!

Hi, Thankyou that’s good to know. I joined the discord. I will also take a look at fiverr - it seems very cost effective. That might be the thing to do for smaller jobs like the ones you mentioned.

I’ve got a few things in mind.

1. sammancoaching.org (sourcecode is open on github) - I’d like it to work better on a mobile phone. At the moment it’s all fixed width pages.