Gh-pages site looks good locally but on gh all but home page look wrong

I’m a noob at html/css/jekyll etc.

My jekyll/gh-pages blog looks fine on my computer, but I just uploaded it and … not so much. The home page looks great! But my pages and posts have all their content but are missing some important formatting info. I didn’t get any build errors or warnings from the current version.

Can someone tell me what I’m missing here? I would greatly appreciate it.

Repo: https://github.com/NormBirkett/NormBirkett.github.io

Incidentally, I’ve read through the discussion at https://github.community/t/css-not-being-applied-in-pages/10466/9 and tried the only one of the suggestions there that appeared to apply, without effect. Of course, I may have failed to understand something on that discussion.

I’m very sorry to bother all of you but I’m a bit stumped. In particular it baffles me that my local build of the site looks fine but up on github it doesn’t.

One clue, maybe:

When I removed ‘{{ site.baseurl }}’ from my stylesheet links locally, my local site started to misbehave exactly as my github site is doing. So I think I must be misunderstanding the purpose of the baseurl. Removing this part of these lines had no effect up on gh, though.

Late breaking news: I just stumbled upon a fix! Which I don’t understand, but I’ll take it!

When I replaced ‘{{ site.baseurl }}’ in the stylesheet links with ‘{{ site.url }}’, the gh site started working. But this same change breaks my local build! Disables the css completely!

So my revised question is: How am I supposed to set this up so that both local and deployed (on gh) blog will work?

Later breaking news: Not all is working correctly on gh, however. When I go from home to a page or post, then clicking on home or the blog title from there does not take me back to home!

As I said, I’m a noob at this. If someone can give me the key principle I’m missing, I’ll be very very grateful.