Configure categories page to use permalink and title?

Hi!
I’m new with Jekyll and am no Ruby developer so please bear with me :slight_smile:
I forked a Jekyll theme to use on my site but I’m not happy with the way it lists categories.

For categories, I have a bunch of .md files within the /category/ folder, with the following contents:

---
layout: posts_by_category
categories: my-category
title: My Category
permalink: /category/myCategory
---

Whenever I create a post, I use the “categories” value (which seems to be the category name). For instance, I’d use my-category to categorize a post.

My site also has a page to list all categories, and this is where it’s not working as I’d expect. I’d like to show the “title” value on the page, while using the “permalink” value to build the link url. Instead, this seems to be using the “categories” value for both:

{% for category in site.categories %}
    {% capture category_slug %}{{ category | first }}{% endcapture %}
    {% for c_slug in category_slug %}
        {% if c_slug == page.categories %}
            <button class="btn btn-sm btn-primary btn-raised">{{ c_slug }}</button>
        {% else %}
            <a href="{{ site.baseurl }}/category/{{ c_slug }}" class="btn btn-sm btn-default btn-raised">{{ c_slug }}</a>
        {% endif %}
    {% endfor %}
{% endfor %}

I understand that site.categories is a hashmap with each category name as key and an array of posts as a value. And by using the first filter I’m getting the keys (category names) only. This is what ends up being stored in the c_slug variable which is used to display on the page and to build the url in the above code, and this is what I’d like to change. However, I don’t know how to get the permalink or the title.

I need something that gets me the category title (the one I created in a category .md page) so I can show it like this:
<button class="btn btn-sm btn-primary btn-raised">{{ title }}</button>

And then the permalink to build the url, like this: