Build for multiple sites

I used to hand code html web pages back in the day. There really wasn’t a need to include the URL in the links. I have been using CMS’s for a few years now, and was happy to stumble upon SSG’s. Jekyll seems to give me the flexibility to build what I want, however I’m having a difficult time with ‘jekyll build’. It looks great when I run ‘jekyll serve’. When I open the index file located in _site, none of the formatting looks the same. The links are all broken. I don’t have posts, just pages mostly (about 700). In the _config.yml file I have the URL and BaseURL set to “”. (nothing). I would really appreciate any help in how to produce a website that is kind of independent of the URL. Or doesn’t Jekyll do this? I don’t intend on using github, as I know nothing about GH. I already have web server space and plan on using that when I finish the site, and figure out the build. Any help would greatly be appreciated. Thanks!

Shane

you shouldn’t have any problems, but without examples to look at can’t really tell you much.

How are you forming links?

If you are not using GH then you probably don’t need a value in baseurl, as that is for stuff that is served from a sub folder rather than the root.

If you have a page named contact.html you should be able to link to it with
<a href="/contact/">Contact Us</a>

Though that would assume you are using pretty permalinks in your config.

Without seeing any code I’m guessing that having url and basurl set are causing your issues.
Remove them from _config.yml they’re not need (unles you want to use them)

See here … something I wrote last month:
https://terminaladdict.com/linux/jekyll/bash/development/2018/10/17/Jekyll-Getting-Started.html