Are there tutorials for total non-techy idiots such as myself? Or should I give up?

I have basic editing skills in WordPress but that’s about the extent of my ability. I’ve found some basic tutorials online as far as installation is concerned. Namely, these folks over at: https://learn.cloudcannon.com/ who’ve got a video on installing all the goodies.

I’m having a problem with using Terminal. It’s my first time using it and I’m trying to get to do this step by step, slowly. Alas, I’ve hit a roadblock now where I’ve asked Jekyll to create a new site named lselondontest by inputting “jekyll new lselondontest” then it says command not found, when I put it again, it says “Conflict: /Users/myusername/lselondontest exists and is not empty.” – Since I’ve zero experience with all this, this is my first road block.

I’m wondering if y’all feel Jekyll may be too hard to learn as a total utter noob, or if it’s worth sticking to? I feel like I can learn, even if it takes a while, but some things are already way out of my league. Thanks for your thoughts in advance.

I tried 1 year ago and failed to get it to work, moved to squarespaces, and then this year finally came back to it and got things running. It can be tough for a non-technical person I think if you want to do any type of customization beyond the basics. I would not recommend this solution to someone who isn’t at least going to be able to work with the basics of Git with checking stuff in, branching etc (I’ve learned just for this).

That said, if you are willing to learn and have a technical leaning to be willing to work through the learning curve, I think Jekyll is pretty cool!

My advice would be that you could get started and running relatively easy if you just fork an existing repo in Github and then customize just the very basics and go from there.