Absolute beginner

Hi, community
just starting my very first Jekyll site. :wink: Therefore I have a lot of questions. The most important one for rhe moment is: How do I start a website not locally but on a server in order to be displayed in the web. Something like that: https;//example.com

Om https://jekyllrb.com/docs/step-by-step/01-setup/ I only see instructions in order to start a local site. Has anybody got a link for further information?

thanks
rabo

Hello and welcome

This is a helpful community so ask when you get stuck but also look at the Jekyll docs and the older forum posts with a search.

When you run Jekyll locally, you typically run

jekyll serve

You can add options like --trace for error details and --livereload to reload the page when you save a file change.

Another way to run Jekyll locally is

jekyll build
cd _site
python3 -m http.serve 8000

And then view in your browser as localhost:8000

Once you have the output of HTML files and other assets, you donā€™t need Jekyll to live as a server or even installed where the site is serving from

You can move your site directory somewhere for nginx or apach to serve it locally.

You can build it on your remote server on AWS with Jekyll and serve it there with nginx. You can use FTP to move it somewhere and serve it.

The easiest way to get started with a remote server is to add your content to master on github pages. Including a homepage index.md file and a config file. No build step necessary, no build output to commit. Just push your site to GitHub and enable GitHub Pages on your repoā€™s settings.

You can take this quickstart and click Use this template.

I have an even simpler site here

Both samples on live on GH Pages for free and if you have a custom domain like example.com you can find a tutorial to set that up too.

Hi Michael,