Regeneration loop Mac OS

Help! I have been using Jekyll for years successfully, but I am not a savvy programmer. I’ve just been lucky, I think. I am using 4.2 on Big Sur 11.6, and have recently tried to work with Git, but my sites are all made on my local machine and uploaded manually to a commercial server.

When I run “jekyll-serve” on my machine, it starts to cache and regenerate endlessly … this can’t be correct. Is it something in the config file? Does it have anything to do with Git?

Can anyone help me figure this out?

edited to add: I think the problem might be in my $PATH. I am using zshell, and the system Ruby, even though I’ve installed the newest Ruby with Homebrew. If so, how do I fix the PATH, if this makes sense. Thanks, again.

what is in your config file? jekyll should not be running in a loop.

I could almost see how if you somehow are not ignoring git or somehow have it watching the _site folder, a change to the site folder could maybe cause a change in the .git folder and if jekyll was watching that for some reason it would regenerate and so on.

If you look in the _site folder is there a .git folder? there should not be.

Not sure where the path would come in to play here, it sounds like jekyll is working. What happens if you just do jekyll build? does it run without errors?

Jekyll’s regeneration doesn’t have anything to do with Git.
The only location Jekyll’s regenerator watches is the source directory.

Therefore, pay attention to the messages printed on the terminal.
Ideally, Jekyll wouldn’t regenerate when .jekyll-cache at source directory gets created / modified.

However, if you have multiple servers running (for the same source directory but mounted to different host:port combo), there’s a chance that one of the server regenerating because of another server modifying the source directory.

Ensure that no other running processes is modifying the source directory and then restart Jekyll’s server.

1 Like