Pagination question: Where does index.html go?

I’m running Jekyll 3.4.0.

I’m new to Jekyll and I’m trying to get pagination to work. I’ve read though Jekyll’s pagination documentation and have installed jekyll-paginate (1.1.0) and included jekyll-paginate in the gems list in _config.yml file and listed pageinate: 5 in the same file. I am forking the Minima theme and have a home.html page in _layouts that is powering the homepage (somehow). I understand that I need to create an index.html file in the home directory and basically include the same contents of the home.html file in _layouts.

Is that correct?

I’ve tried putting index.html in both the _layouts and home directories of my repo but no luck. My index.html file doesn’t seem to become the source file of my website (I can edit the contents of index.html file but the contents of my site don’t change).

Thanks for your help!

You’re close.

1. Add index.html to the root of your site and make sure it has layout: home
  2. Edit _layouts/home.html to loop through the paginator object. {% for post in site.posts %} will become {% for post in paginator.posts %}

You’ll probably want to add some sort of next/previous links to the home layout as well. The link you included above has a complete example that you could replace the entire contents of the home layout with.

---
layout: default
title: My Blog
---

<!-- This loops through the paginated posts -->
{% for post in paginator.posts %}
  <h1><a href="{{ post.url }}">{{ post.title }}</a></h1>
  <p class="author">
    <span class="date">{{ post.date }}</span>
  </p>
  <div class="content">
    {{ post.content }}
  </div>
{% endfor %}

<!-- Pagination links -->
<div class="pagination">
  {% if paginator.previous_page %}
    <a href="{{ paginator.previous_page_path }}" class="previous">Previous</a>
  {% else %}
    <span class="previous">Previous</span>
  {% endif %}
  <span class="page_number ">Page: {{ paginator.page }} of {{ paginator.total_pages }}</span>