Need help Creating Child Posts in Jekyll: Abstract to Full Article Transition

Hello,

This is my first time using Jekyll for a website.

I am currently using the Lagrange template (GitHub - LeNPaul/Lagrange: A minimalist Jekyll theme for running a personal blog powered by Jekyll and GitHub Pages) for testing on localhost.

I would like to inquire about creating a child post in Jekyll.

As far as I understand, a mypost.md file in the _post folder becomes a full article post on the website. However, what I intend is for mypost.md to be an abstract article page, with a link from this abstract page leading to the full article page (which I will create).

Here’s the structure I have in mind:

->_post
----->mypost.md
--------->fullmypost.md
----->myotherpost.md
--------->fullmyotherpost.md

Note that fullmypost.md and fullmyotherpost.md should not appear on the website; they are subchildren of the parent posts. I hope I’m not causing any confusion.

Can someone assist me with this?

Thank you.

1 Like

if they aren’t on the website how will the viewer see them? I think you are saying you don’t want the link to them to be anywhere other than within the mypost page?

• if you are doing posts you need to include the date in the filename so mypost.md is not a valid post name
  • you can have a post excerpt, would that work for you?

I’m not sure what you mean by abstract, I think maybe excerpt would make more sense but I am not real clear about what you want to do.

if they aren’t on the website how will the viewer see them? I think you are saying you don’t want the link to them to be anywhere other than within the mypost page?

ah you’re correct… my bad , i have difficulty on how to describe it but you’re understood what i mean correctly . the full article page should be linked only from parent post

if you are doing posts you need to include the date in the filename so mypost.md is not a valid post name