Jekyll - generate a post twice; once with layout, and once as raw html

Hello Jekyll Community! First poster here.

I want to make a change to my blog so that on the front page, each post can be loaded into a dialog-like element using .fetch(), but you can still ‘Read more’ to go to the full-page blog post.

The way I envision this working is that posts would be generated to the output as usual but also a second, raw HTML copy could be generated to another directory (like /raw/)

I’m hoping there is either a vanilla Jekyll feature to do this through config, or else a known plugin.

My backup plan is to either write a generator (I’m not a Ruby programmer but I can try), or migrate to 11ty.

I’ve looked at this thread: How can I display a raw HTML or MD file without Jekyll processing it? So that a visitor can see the raw HTML contents? - Help - Jekyll Talk (jekyllrb.com) but that’s not quite what I want, as I’d like another file-per-post rather than embedding a single post into my content.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and ideas!

(Crossposted to StackOverflow)

Hello @stegriff
FYI, there is no vanilla Jekyll feature that lets you do this.

However, out of curiosity, is your source-repo private?
If not, why not just provide a link to your public repository somewhere on the rendered page?

Update:

Oh! I think I misinterpreted your use-case on the first read…
So, scratch that part about link to public repo.

You’ll definitely need a generator plugin for this. Best you write one yourselves.
You’d need to first subclass Jekyll::Document and override the method :place_in_layout? to always return false. Then initialize your generated post(s) as (an) instance(s) of the subclass.
Don’t forget to assign a new URL to your generated post(s).

1 Like

Thanks very much for the pointers on writing the generator! I will weigh this up against migrating to something I’m more familiar with extending.

I’ll hang around in case anyone else has an idea or plugin recommendation…