Folder/file architecture for a glossary project

I’m a first time Jekyll/YAML/Liquid user and slowly getting my head around it. I think I have the basics down, but I’m going to have some questions for sure. Here’s the first one, it’s just high-level about file tree architecture.

Context…

The project is a rolling, collaborative glossary. The main index page will serve as a glossary index, and all other pages in the site are definition files. (There should be a search page later.)

My questions at the moment are with regard to how best to structure the file tree so that I can more easily organize the index content. I’m just getting started with an index page and 3 definition files to test, so it’s no big deal to move things around if necessary. I’m hoping to get an idea about the big picture structure so I more or less get it right before the bulk of files is created.

Index page

What I envision are lists of terms organized by alphabetic letters. For example:

A

B

C

• etc

My initial thinking is to use pages for definition files, not posts. The definition files are not going to have comments and whatnot – they’re just static reference pages.

I was also hoping to keep everything in the root directly (a true flat tree), not have to organize all the pages into subfolders, but I’m flexible on this if it’s necessary to design the index easier.

I also expect to use breadcrumps at the top of each definition page. But I’m not sure yet how to do this effectively. Based on the above lists, the obvious outcome would be, for example, Index > B > Buffalo. But I’m expecting to use tags in the glossary too that can filter glossary terms by a related theme or concept. I’ve not figured all that tag stuff out yet.

I also expect to use previous || next pagination in each definition so it’s possible for a user to move through the glossary laterally, one definition page at a time, regardless of how the file might be organized in folders (or not). Assuming that’s even possible.