Can I add a post to a collection?

I am working on a journal that has articles from a ton of different authors.

I’d like to create a collection for each author, so readers can view all post by that author.

Can I add the collection, by author name to the front matter of the post and it flow properly?

here is an example that I think does what you want:

I am going to go through this tutorial and provide an update. Thank you, rydar!

Okay, I am a noob so please bear with me…

structure

I don’t understand what “site.author” means? is my site url with .authors at the end of the url?

I don’t understand what “author.url” means?

they made a collection called authors which can be accessed as site.authors.

The dot syntax is a common way of accessing things, you can loop over site.authors and then access the individual items as author.name or author.url etc. Once you start doing it it should make sense.

This is a fairly complex example as it is taking a collection of author data and using some front matter in each post to connect the 2 and do some cool stuff.

Joe,

The easiest way to do this would instead be to simply add an author field to all of your posts and then loop through posts where post.author matches the author you are referencing.

You would want to include a field called author in the front matter of each post like below:

---
author: joe-rodgers
---

and then create a collection called authors.yml inside of your _data folder. This collection could include all of the information pertaining to each of these authors (name, social media links, profession, bio, etc) like so:

authors:
  - name: joe-rodgers
    twitter: @joe-rodgers
    bio: Joe is a cool guy

- name: Author2
    twitter: @notARealPerson
    bio: Author2 isn't as cool

To create a page that lists all of the posts an author has made, you could simply loop through site.posts where author matches the current author. Your end result would be something like this: