Adding multiple content variables in one layout file?

Hi all,

I’m new to Jekyll and trying to figure out how to modify the site I’ve been given, specifically the layout files.

The layout file is using Dynamic tabs in the form of nav-pills. The site originally had two tabs, the first with some in-file html code and the second contains the {{ content }} variable. I’ve added a 3rd tab and my question is how do I add another {{ content }} variable that will reflect a page2.md file that I have while maintaining the original {{ content }} link to page1.md?

My code is similar to the below:

<div class="tab-content" id="pills-tabContent">

<div class="tab-pane fade show active" id="pills-view" role="tabpanel" aria-labelledby="pills-view-tab">
    <div>
       [Some unrelated in-file HTML]
    </div>
  </div>

<div class="tab-pane fade" id="pills-compare" role="tabpanel" aria-labelledby="pills-compare-tab">
    <div>
      {{content}}
    </div>
  </div>

<div class="tab-pane fade" id="pills-glossary" role="tabpanel" aria-labelledby="pills-glossary-tab">
    <div>
      {{content}}
    </div>
  </div>
</div>

How do I get the {{content}} variable associated with pills-glossary tab to display a specific .md file I have?

You could do something like

_includes/template.html

<div>
    {{ first-section }}
</div>
<div>
    {{ second-section }}
</div>

page.md

{% capture first-section %}

Here is my first section content!

{% endcapture %}

{% capture second-section %}

Here is the second section!

{% endcapture %}

{% include template.html %}

Thanks! How would I call those sections in my template file… Just use {{ first-section}} or would I need to use an include call to pull the .html file?

Ah yes sorry I forgot a part, you need to add

{% include template.html %}

at the end of page.md

Got it!