_layouts, _sass and _includes got cleaned up on build

I want to add Latex to my site, so I have to add a line to include MathJax in ./_layout/some_html.html. However, I just cannot find _layouts, _sass and _includes. I added it manually, they just got deleted when I run either jekyll serve or bundle exec jekyll serve. Even those folders in my gem-theme folders were cleaned up as well. I am new to Ruby and Jekyll, so any suggestions will be helpful!
Thanks in advance.

Also, I followed the instructions in https://jekyllrb.com/docs/themes/ to change to another theme, but it just displays nothing because the _layouts folders were cleaned on built and I think that is the same issue here.

Ok. Problem solved. I think I put them in the wrong place. I placed them in _site folder, so this folder just rebuild every time on build and that’s why. But still I cannot render anything when I am using a gem based theme.

Can you elaborate on the steps taken to render, please?
(If you have the project made public posting the url to the repository would be added help.)

1 Like

problem solved. The problem was, when I changed the theme, the corresponding _folders were not added to my root folder automatically. Then the site just cannot find the layout page they are looking for, and finally a blank page was rendered. So I have to manually copied and pasted the from gems folder.
I just wonder if that is normal with Jekyll when switching themes, because this link’s description doesn’t sound like I have to manually copy those folders…

You’re right in wondering if its normal to have to copy “_folders” when switching themes.
The deal behind using gem-based themes is that unless you need to customize a theme file, you shouldn’t have to copy anything to your project’s source directory. Doing so will render you unable to easily sync future updates to your theme.

TL;DR:
A well maintained them would have proper documentation set up to easily migrate from the default theme Minma.