Show Disqus at the bottom of .html format blog post

I have created a post in Rmarkdown for my Jekyll website. The post is in filename.html. The post appears the way I want it to be on Jekyll.

The blog post is called Data_Science_with_R_Pt_1.html, I have put this file into my _posts folder. My other blog posts are .md files and the Disqus section appears without any problem. My disqus.html is saved in _includes folder.

I am pretty new to Jekyll, so is there a way to show this Disqus section with a post in filename.html format?

I’d like it to look like this.

Thanks!

Can you post what you have tried? I’m not real clear on what you are saying - it works if the post is a markdown file but not if it is an html file?

Is the discus code in a layout? include?

I have updated the post.

I’ve put {% include disqus.html %} at the bottom of the Data_Science_with_R_Pt_1.html, Disqus appears but it is out of place.

Do you have the date at the beginning of that file name in the _posts folder? it probably wouldn’t be the problem but without the date I don’t think it would show up.

So the comments show up and are functional, they just aren’t displaying correctly when the post is html vs md?

If so that just sounds like your html is throwing off something, maybe there is a missing closing tag or extra div or something.

Also, you probably should be calling the include from a layout, that way you wouldn’t have to add it to the bottom of every post. Are the md posts doing this the same way?

Have you looked at it with the inspector in the browser?

is there a live site to look at? and repo?

I have the date in the right format for the .html post. And yes Disqus and footer icons aren’t displaying correctly if the blog post is saved as html.

The md posts are fine. They show up in Jekyll as I want them to be.

This is the repo for the website https://github.com/azmirfakkri/azmirfakkri.github.io

Thank you so much for responding to my questions!