Sass layouts supported?

Hello world!

I was trying to build a SASS layout to include a number the variables that I parse from YAML data and config files. I find this convenient since that way I don’t need to be copying and pasting the same lines of code around for every main file I create. However, although I get no errors, the layout does not get sourced.

Is this feature supported? Is there another way of doing this? Since I am new to Jekyll I was hesitant of opening a PR on github.

Thanks!

For SASS loading basics

Follow SASS in the Jekyll docs

or check this Minima 2.5.1 theme (the one on GH Pages).

Loaded in assets/main.scss

Used here.

I don’t know if Jekyll supports Liquid variables in sass files but I would guess so.
Because in a .css at least, with frontmatter, you can use a for loop etc. And can use

---
---
{{ site.data.foo | inspect }}

To reference _data.foo.yml as a data file.

Or site.title for _config.yml.

Thanks Michael!

I have been following the docs, however I did not find any reference to SASS layouts. What I want to do is something like this:

---
# _layouts/colors.scss
---
$my-color: {{ site.colors.green }};
---
# css/main.scss
layout: colors
---
body {
    background-color: $my-color;
}

Variables are supported in main sass files (i.e. not an import in sass_dir).

1 Like

Here 's what I do:

in _layout/default.html

{% capture styles %}
     {% include main.css %}
{% endcapture %}

cat _includes/main.css

@import "main.scss"

in _config.yml

sass:
    load_paths:
        - _sass
        - node_modules
        - assets/css
        - assets/vendor
    style: compressed

and finally in assets/css/main.scss

$body-background-color: #2B2E31;
$content-max-width: 100%;
$content-color: #222;
$content-background-color: #fff;
$brand-colour: #3583d6;
$brand-colour-light: mix($brand-colour, $content-background-color, 10%);

$nav-header-background-color: $brand-colour;
$nav-header-height: 60px;
$nav-background-color: #f5f5f5;
$nav-width: 300px;