Offsetting Markdown Headers

I have been using Jekyll to create my course web site for the last 2 years and have gotten fairly familiar with its syntax, but this has me stumped.

I have a collection for the course, which includes markdown files for each week’s readings, homework, etc.

The content from this collection is used in two ways:

1. As its own page (e.g., https://mycourse.com/course/week01) and
  2. Embedded in other pages via a liquid tag {{ week.content | markdownify }}

My issue is that these two instances require different heading levels.

I see that Kramdown has a header_offset option which I can set in my config.yml. Is there any way to use that option on a per page or per block basis, much like {::options parse_block_html="true" /}?

I have, of course, tried wrapping the content in ::options header_offset and providing 2 as a value, but that hasn’t made a difference.

Thanks for reading and any suggestions!

I’ve found what feels like a hacky solution and would still appreciate any other insights.

For the time being, I’m using the replace filter like so:

{{ week.content | markdownify | replace: '<h2', '<h4' | replace: '</h2>', '</h4>' }}

Obviously, this only becomes more hacky if my content includes additional headers :grimacing:

You can leave the replace approach and use CSS. Or change up your templating - separate your content data from your styling.

Data and styling approach

Using content twice is a common flow for jekyll blogs. The title of a post is stored as title in the frontmatter and the content comes below.

---
title: Post 1 title
---

Body of post.

Here is a small H2 heading when embedded.

## {{ page.title }}

Here is it a big heading as H1 on a standalone page.

# {{ page.title }}

On the Posts listing page you have a title and snippet of a post. The main title of the page is H1. And the title of each post embedded on the page is H2. See plain text below

My Blog

Post 1 title
  Intro

Post 2 title
  Intro