Can't create wanted code-indentations

Hi all,
still being a real beginner, I have not understood how to achieve nice indented code in the _site output files.

After repeated searches failed my hope is to get a more clear picture of this here.

Firstly, if a comprehensive help text would exist somewhere, I’d like to read it.

Else, the basic quest seems simple:

In the output, I want something nicely indented like:

<html lang="...">
  <head>
    <meta name="...">
    <link rel="...">
  </head>
</html>

Now, since include-files and liquid statements are existing in various places, this is somewhat more complex and I didn’t manage yet to to so.

Could someone explain general rules for this? Thereafter I would try to follow and get back with a dedicated sample piece of code, if problems continue.

Thanks for your help in advance!
Uli

Why would you want pretty-printed output? It would just blow up code, increases needless data transfer. Mine is even worse :), because I use the compress layout.

Thanks!
Basically agreed, compression is a good thing, provided you are some more experienced…
For me it greatly helps to better see the program structure in both, the source and the target when debugging.

Regards
Uli

Edit:
A very stupid question: What is ‘the compress layout’ you are using?

Ah, I fully understand the learning aspect (still learning myself all the time). Doubtful you will find such in the Jekyll universe (you could feed the produced html files into a pretty printer program).

As to compress, see: http://jch.penibelst.de/. Excellent, very creative Liquid programming. A caveat: it stumbles on these JavaScript comments //, must all be converted to /* … */, then fine.

1 Like