Market for Jekyll Developers - A Site Owner's Thoughts

There have been several discussions here about the market for Jekyll developers. Rather than add on to an existing thread, I thought I might post separately. This will be longwinded, so you might want to skip down to the summary.

I am not a developer, but a site owner. I have built a number of sites over the years and can follow html, css, and general JS. Several years ago I began building a site with Drupal. The learning curve was steep. About the time I would get to the 90% level a new version came out and had to start over. After deciding Drupal was for the hardcore, and seeing what it would cost for an outside developer, I gave up. A few years later Wordpress had added a number of the features I needed. I hired a well respected firm to build the site. It worked great on day one. I added content over several months ( needed a large content base to go live).

As it was part-time, I worked on it 2-3 times per week. Each time I opened the admin page there was a theme, plugin, or security update to install. Perhaps, not the command line, but I was adding things that I didnā€™t really understand. There had to be a better way.

About this time I read an article about static site generators and the ability to add services to fill out the site such as google calendar, discus, etc. Thus began a re-evaluation of my needs. My basic needs were fairly strait forward (I really didnā€™t need a clone of the Huffington Post). Jekyll seemed to be a viable option.

Summary

I donā€™t need Jekyll, I need a site. Jekyll has a tagline of ā€œBlog Like a Hackerā€. My philosophy is ā€œBlog Like Your Best Buddy is a Hackerā„¢ā€. I hired a competent developer to integrate the various items and technologies. Everyone is on a budget, but your budget canā€™t be $0.

Jekyll provides a great base to build sites with. Add what you need from a trove of services. Switch when better tools are available.