eCommerce/shopping cart solution comparison

I’ve been using Snipcart with my Jekyll sites with some success, but I wanted to get some details on the competition. Are there other decent shopping cart solutions for static sites? If, so can you please list their pros and cons. Here’s Snipcart’s based on my usage:

Pros

• Easy to “setup”. Setup involves proper HTML markup for products and linking a Javascript file.
  • Competitive pricing. 2% flat from each purchase. In addition to your payment gateway fees.

##Cons

• No inventory management. Snipcart knows your products only by scanning your website, so to update inventory users must update the website. This leads to 2 “dashboards”. The one for editing the site (typically a collection of YAML files), and then the Snipcart dashboard for tracking customers, orders, discounts, and retargeting customers with abandoned carts.
  • Only one account per person. As a web consultant I need to use a different email address every time I create a Snipcart account for a client. Once the site is out of development mode, I have to change the email address on the account to the client’s email. This can be problematic when developing for multiple clients.

The last Con is a big one for me. Are there similar solutions that allow designers and developers to have multiple eCommerce clients?

I really wish Snipcart supported digital downloads and EU VAT.

For clients with monthly sales under $500, the 2% will be replaced by a $10 fee which is still pretty good if you are just starting out.

I haven’t found anything as good as snipcart - v.2 is great I am pretty sure it supports digital products I am sure I seen them in the email markup

2 Likes

Thanks Jordan. You were right, it is possible to support digital downloads. I reached out to Snipcart and got this reply.

Digital downloads are not yet handled natively by Snipcart although you could still manage to do this via our webhooks.